This course is for anyone 21 or more years of age who wishes to obtain a concealed handgun permit from the State of Alaska. Permits currently include NICS exemption, are currently reciprocal with 38 states, and are valid for ~5 years, expiring on your birthday in the 5th year.
This course meets the state requirement of 12 hours of training both in classroom and on the range. Students will be introduced to the basic skillset and mindset essential for lawful and effective firearm use for protection of self and family. An understanding of state and federal defense law is reviewed as is the law-abiding citizen’s right to justified self-defense.
Scenario based learning and application-based training drills fosters a deeper understanding of lawful defense while making the training applicable to your individual context. Students must pass a written test regarding firearm safety and defense law as well as a basic shooting proficiency test. On course completion, students are supplied with the needed forms to submit the completed CHP packet to the state of Alaska for permit application. The state of Alaska will review your packet and will issue your permit mailing it directly to you.
Previous handgun experience IS required for this course. At Accurate Advantage we believe that the choice to live a protected lifestyle should come after a solid foundation of gun safety, marksmanship and function has been established. Click here to view info about our Basic Handgun 101 course.
Total Course Length: 12 hoursRequired Equipment/Gear:
Some of these items are available to rent/borrow; see below.
- Personal Firearm with at least 2 magazines or revolvers: 3 speed loaders
- 200 Rounds factory ammunition – no reloads please
- Hip holster and magazine pouch – concealed holsters must be approved: please call us for guidelines
- Eye & ear protection
- Targets and backers
Available: (may incur an additional cost):
- Holsters, magazine pouches & gun belts are available to borrow.
- Ammo – prices vary, most often charged by the rounds fired. Email for price info.
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to order or reserve equipment.
Course Cost: $195.00
Your Next Steps: Check the calendar for upcoming courses and then register and pay for your course. Courses are filled on a first-paid, first-serve basis.
Course Calendar » Register Now »
Questions? Contact Us Now